Carnival

Today at school the kids had a big fiesta to celebrate Carnival, which starts today and continues until Wednesday. I wasn’t planning on going to school today because there was no class, but decided to go after I had a wonderful day Thursday with my students. One fourth grade girl made me a beautiful Carnival mask and a group of girls in fifth grade wrote about me for an activity we did. So, I came Friday for the kids.

The school’s theme for the year is water, so all the kids of each grade dressed up in the same costumes that had to do with water. The scuba divers from third grade were my favorites.

After a parade through the town, the kids returned to eat Orejas and dance outside.

I took my nice Canon camera to practice shooting. The kids posed a lot but I was able to get a few journalist-y photos. Not my best bunch of shots, but not bad for a beginner with the sun coming in and out of the clouds every five minutes and having rapidly moving children around you. Also hard to edit when all the kids are so cute and the costumes are so creative. Enjoy, and happy Carnival!

Leave a comment